King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard “Hate the Dance”

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have released their new single/video, “Hate Dancin'”, from their forthcoming album Changes, out October 28th on KGLW. Following last week’s Laminated Denim – an album written specifically with their recent sold-out Red Rocks marathons in mind – and Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava, Changes marks King Gizzard’s third and final album in October. . Originally envisioned as the band’s fifth album in 2017, Changes completed the sixth album King Gizzard will release in 2022 (completed by April’s double album, Omnium Gatherum, January’s Butterfly 3001 remix disc and Made in March Timeland, the latter of which has just been surprised – first published on DSP). “Hate Dancin'” is a tight number, clocking just over the 3 minute mark. “I started writing a song about how I hate dancing, but I realized I love dancing,” Gizz frontman Stu Mackenzie said. The accompanying video brings the group’s exquisite movements to the fore.

For half a decade, the sextet was haunted by an elusive conceptual project that beat all their attempts (of which there had been several). They first engineered the album in 2017, a busy year for the band. In just twelve months, they recorded and released five albums of new material, but the band intended to end the year with a different album. That album was called Changes, and it’s finally coming now. “I think of Changes as a song cycle,” says band member Stu Mackenzie. “Each song is built around this chord progression – each track is like a variation on a theme. But I don’t know if we still had the musical vocabulary to complete the idea at that time. We recorded some part at the time, including the version of “Exploding Suns” that is on the final album. But when the sessions were over, it never seemed to be over. It was like this idea that was in our heads, but that we just couldn’t reach, we just didn’t know yet how to do what we wanted to do.

The band ditched Changes and instead churned out the alluring Gumboot Soup (the last of five albums the band released in 2017), and were then quickly snared by about eight other wacky ideas that sent them off in new directions. infinite. But the concept of Changes did not come gently into this good night. “We’ve really tinkered with it since,” adds Mackenzie.

“It’s not necessarily our most complex record, but every little bit and every sound you hear has been carefully thought out,” adds Mackenzie. Indeed, the album spanned five years of intermittent inventiveness. But the album taught him that projects run on their own schedules and are ready when they’re ready.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard 2022 Tour Dates

Tue Oct 18 – Toronto, ON @ History * SOLD OUT
Marry. Oct. 19 – Montreal, QC @ L’Olympia * SOLD OUT
Fri, Oct. 21 – Forest Hills, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium %
Sat. October 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall *SOLD OUT
Sun. October 23 – Washington, DC @ The Anthem *SOLD OUT
Mon. Oct. 24 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *SOLD OUT
Marry. October 26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern *SOLD OUT
Thu., Oct. 27 – New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theater *SOLD OUT
Fri. Oct. 28 – Austin, TX @ Levitation – Stubb’s *SOLD OUT
Sat. October 29 – Austin, TX @ Levitation – Stubb’s $SOLD OUT
Mon. Oct. 31 – Oklahoma City, OK @ The Criterion#
Marry. November 2 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater #SOLD OUT
Sat. December 10 – St. Kilda, AUS @ The Palace Foreshore @
Thu Dec. 29 – Tauranga, New Zealand @ Domaine Wharepai
Sat. December 31 – Wanaka, New Zealand @ Rhythm & Alps
Marry. January 4 – Auckland, New Zealand @ The Matakana Country Park
Fri. Jan. 6 – New Plymouth, New Zealand @ Bowl of Brooklands
Thu. March 2 – Paris, FR @ Zénith
Fri. March 3 – Amsterdam, NL @ Gashoulder
Sat. March 4 – Tilburg, NE @ 013
Mon. March 6 – Malmö, SE @ Plan B
Tue. March 7 – Stockholm, SE @ Munchenbryggeriet
Marry. March 8 – Oslo, NE @ Sentrum Scene
Thu March 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Gra Hal
Sat. March 11 – Warsaw, PL @ Progesja
Sun. March 12 – Prague, CZ @ Lucerna Velky Sal
Mon. March 13 – Vienna, AT @ Gasometer
Marry. March 15 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz
Thu March 16 – Zurich, CH @ X-Tra
Fri. March 17 – Lausanne, CH @ Les Docks
Sat. March 18 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof
Mon. March 20 – Brussels, DE @ Cirque Royale
Marry. March 22 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy
Thu March 23 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy
Thu March 30 – Sydney, Australia @ Big Top Luna Park
Thu. April 6 – Byron Bay, Australia @ Tivoli
Fri. April 7 – Byron Bay, Australia @ Byron Bay Bluesfest

* with Leah Senior
% with Noon Black, Leah Senior
​$ ​w/ Tropical Fuck Storm, The Murlocs
# with the Murlocs, Leah Senior
@ with Stella Donnelly, CIVIC

Order your tickets for King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard HERE

Comments are closed.