Cal Poly Symphony to present ‘Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich’ on December 3 – Cal Poly News


SAN LUIS OBISPO – The Cal Poly Symphony returns live for an in-person audience for its fall concert at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, December 3 in the Miossi Hall of the Christopher Cohan Center at the Performing Arts Center.

For the concert, titled “Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich”, the symphony welcomes guest soloist Tanya Gabrielian, hailed by the London Times as “a pianist with powerful physical and imaginative muscle”, to perform Piano Concerto No. 2 by Shostakovich. An acclaimed soloist, Gabrielian has performed with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Boston Pops, among others.

In addition to performing internationally, Gabrielian is passionate about community engagement, education and activism through art. She has collaborated with the National Alliance on Mental Illness in programs highlighting the stigma surrounding mental health issues and with other artists in multidisciplinary projects that have earned her international recognition.

The symphony program will feature composers with mental illness, starting with Sergei Rachmaninoff, who suffered from depression. After a particularly dark period precipitated by a first failure, he could only resume composing with the help of his therapist, Nikolai Dahl. The group will play the haunting “Vocalise” by Rachmaninoff in a large orchestral arrangement by the composer.

The program will continue with the Overture-Fantasy of Romeo and Juliet by Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky, based on Shakespeare’s play of the same name. Tchaikovsky, who experienced extreme cycles of depression and productivity, struggled with the composition of this work. With the help of Mily Balakirev, it underwent several revisions, from its disappointing first performance to eventual success.

After the intermission, Gabrielian will perform Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22. Schumann, who suffered from bipolar disorder and delusional visions, attempted suicide and was admitted at his own request to a mental asylum, where he died without recovering. This sonata was composed between 1830 and 1838 and is the most played of his piano sonatas. Clara Schumann, wife of the composer and virtuoso pianist, wrote to her husband in 1838: “I am impatiently awaiting the second sonata. Your whole being is so clearly expressed there.

The concert will end with a performance of Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major by Dmitry Shostakovich, Op.102. The concerto, written four years after Joseph Stalin’s death, was a birthday present for the composer’s 19-year-old son, Maxim. Unlike the tense, scary music that Shostakovich is known for, this piece revel in playful humor, poignant simplicity, and inner jokes that only father and son would understand.

Tickets cost $ 15 and $ 20 for the public and $ 10 for students. Parking for the event is sponsored by the PAC. Tickets are available at the Cal Poly box office between noon and 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. To order by phone, dial 805-SLO-4TIX (805-756-4849).

The concert is sponsored by the Cal Poly Music Department, the College of Liberal Arts program and educational related activities. For more information, call the Music Department at 805-756-2406 or visit their calendar website.

– Tickets:
– Center for the Performing Arts:
– Cal Poly Music Department Calendar:

Contact: Michèle Abba
805-756-2406; [email protected]

November 2, 2021

# # #

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.